Latest News

If you wish to have a notice inserted, please send it to the Webmaster.


Planning for CLESOL 2018 in Christchurch is well underway so keep your diaries free. The date will be from Thursday 4th October to Sunday 7th October. Further details, and email updates, can be found at Also keep checking our page for more information as it comes through.

Electronic Village Online (EVO)

Since 2001, the Electronic Village Online (EVO) has functioned as a virtual extension of the Electronic Village (EV), a project of TESOL’s CALL Interest Section, and provided free online professional development sessions for language teachers world-wide. We are looking for help to develop timely topics and recruit moderators by distributing our Call for Proposals. The link is here but you can find out more on our Call for Papers page here

Language Assessment Workshop for Teachers

There is going to be a workshop on language assessment at Auckland University on 7th July. To find out more go here. It is free, but to reserve a place email Rosemary Erlam. The ALTAANZ Student and Teacher Travel Awards of $AU500 each are available for the purposes of assisting two students and two teachers to attend the 2018 Language Testing Research Colloquium (LTRC) in Auckland, 2-6 July 2018. Entries close 18th May. To find out more about the award go here.

Essay Competition

Language Teaching and Cambridge University Press have announced the Christopher Brumfit Essay Prize 2018. The essay competition honours one of the founding editors of the journal. For more information go to their website here.

TESOLANZ position statement

Staff responsible for ESOL programmes in primary and secondary schools. See the Primary or Secondary Sig page.

Refugee Quota

New Zealand's annual refugee quota will be increased from 750 to 1000 from 2018 - the first increase to the quota in close to 30 years.

Which Qualification?

Which qualification do you need to become an EFL or ESL teacher in New Zealand or overseas? Find some suggestions on our Directory of programmes. Any institution offering a TESOL programme can advertise their course free.

MoST Content Management V3.0.6676